RSS

Putting yourself out there.

25 Jan

I recently read an article on Yahoo! Finance that’s had me going back and forth on my resume for weeks. While it had some good tips on resume building that I’d never thought of before, some of the things really had me questioning everything I knew about resumes (which isn’t a whole lot).

I mean, the first thing you learn about creating a resume is putting an objective at the top–the first thing future employers will be able to see. Well apparently I’m out of the loop and the people at Yahoo! think objectives are completely outdated.

Here’s my issue: What if your future employer is old-fashioned and is completely taken aback that this college grad would have the audacity to remove an objective from his or her resume? What if not everyone has caught on to this trend of no objectives and, while I may be ahead of the curve, there’s no point if no one else has caught up too, right?

Cue anxiety.

So, what do you all think? Objectives–yes or no? Work experience–include even the high school babysitting jobs and the long hours as a busboy?

Feel free to leave your comments and any helpful resume building tips! I’m sure I’m not the only one who could use the help…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 25, 2012 in General

 

Leave a Reply

 
